Orthopaedic Update & BCOA Annual Meeting 2024: Sole (Soul) to Shoulder

The UBC Department of Orthopaedics hosted our annual Orthopaedic Update and BCOA Annual Meeting beginning with Research Day presentations by our trainees, followed by Ortho Update, a two-day accredited CPD/CME orthopaedics conference, in collaboration with the BC Orthopaedic Association. We ended the in-person meeting with a specular Graduation & Awards Gala to recognize and celebrate our 2024 graduating trainees and outstanding teachers.

Research Day

The annual UBC Department of Orthopaedics Research Day took place on Wednesday, May 1 at BC Children’s Hospital. Research Day is a one-day event in which UBC Orthopaedics residents, fellows, and graduate students present their research.

Click HERE to view the 2024 Research Day program agenda and abstracts.

Click HERE to watch a recording of the event and view our list of award winners.

Ortho Update

The UBC Department of Orthopaedics and the BC Orthopaedic Association (BCOA) hosted our annual Orthopaedic Update, a two-day accredited CPD/CME conference for orthopaedic surgeons, researchers, and allied health across British Columbia for timely and relevant updates on research and innovations in clinical practice.

The in-person conference was held May 2-3, 2024 at the Morris J Wosk Centre for Dialogue at Simon Fraser University and was broadcasted via Zoom for those who chose virtual participation.

This year’s theme—Sole (Soul) to Shoulder—featured sessions on the latest orthopaedic research and clinical practice. The two-day conference invites expert speakers to discuss topics such as multidirectional instability of the ankle and subtalar joint, pediatric elbow fractures, fragility fractures of the distal humerus and more. Click HERE to view the 2024 Ortho Update program agenda.

A special thanks to our guest speakers:

  • Tim Daniels, MD, FRCSC. Professor, University of Toronto; Head, Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, St. Michael’s Hospital
    • Dr. Tim R. Daniels is an orthopaedic surgeon and the Chief of the Division of Orthopaedic Surgery at St. Michael’s Hospital, Professor at the University of Toronto in the Department of Surgery, the Head of the University of Toronto Foot and Ankle program, and the Term Chair in Foot and Ankle Research. He has served on numerous national and international academic, research committees and organizations, most notably on the Board of Directors for the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society (AOFAS) as Member-At-Large. He is also the recipient of the University of Toronto’s Orthopaedic Chair’s Teaching Award for contributions to orthopaedic education as selected by the residents and the Jameel Ali Continuing Education Award.
  • Graham King, MD, MSc, FRCSC Medical Director, Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre; Professor, Department of Surgery, Western University
    • Dr. Graham JW King received his MD degree at the University of British Columbia. He established the Bioengineering Laboratory at the Hand and Upper Limb Centre at St. Joseph’s Health Centre. Over the past 30 years the laboratory has been successful in attracting extensive peer review funding including CIHR, CAS, CAN and NSERC and has numerous industry collaborations. His current research interests focus on the biomechanics of the wrist and elbow as well as computer and image guided surgery. He is currently a Professor in the Departments of Surgery, Medical Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Western Ontario, Chief of Surgery and Director of the Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre at St. Joseph’s Health Centre.

Graduation & Awards Gala

Residents, fellows, students, faculty, and staff from the UBC Department of Orthopaedics, together with their guests, attended the 2024 Graduation and Awards Gala Dinner on May 3, 2024 at the Arbutus Club to commemorate the accomplishments of our graduating trainees, signifying the culmination of their hard work, passion, and commitment to orthopaedics. 

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients and our entire Class of 2024 Graduating Residents and Clinical Fellows!


Research Day Awards

As part of the ceremony, the best research presentations by residents, clinical fellows, and graduate students at the annual Research Day held May 1st were presented. Click HERE to view our award winners and watch a recording of the presentations.

Faculty Research Award

The Faculty Research Award is in recognition of outstanding contribution in the area of research and innovation in the Department of Orthopaedics. All clinical or academic faculty members conducting research or contributing to innovation at the Department of Orthopaedics are eligible for this award.

  • Andrea Veljkovic, Clinical Associate Professor
Faculty Service Award

The Faculty Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions in service to the Department of Orthopaedics in the areas of leadership, advocacy, quality improvement, engagement initiatives and/or program development. All clinical or academic faculty members within the Department of Orthopaedics are eligible for this award.

Unsung Hero Award

The Unsung Hero Award recognizes an individual who has made significant behind-the-scenes contributions to the success of the Department of Orthopaedics. All faculty and staff within the Department of Orthopaedics are eligible for this award.

  • Karen DuPlessis, UBC Orthopaedics Administrative Manager (Interim)
Faculty Teaching Award

Chosen by our UBC Orthopaedics Residents, the Faculty Teaching Award is presented annually to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding contributions to resident education.

  • Kelly Apostle, Clinical Associate Professor
Fellow Teaching Award

Selected by our UBC Orthopaedics Residents, Fellow Teaching Award is presented annually to clinical fellows in recognition of outstanding contributions to resident education.

  • Philip Hache, UBC Orthopaedic Trauma (Vancouver Acute) Fellow

Class of 2024 Graduating Residents

  • Abdulmohsen Almeshari
  • Hannah Nazaroff
  • Mary Sun
  • Tanya MacDonell
  • Mikaela Peters

2024 Clinical Fellows

Division of Arthroscopy
  • Sandeep Goud – Reconstructive Arthroscopy
  • Malek Alshammari – Reconstructive Arthroscopy
Division of Foot & Ankle
  • Lindsay Anderson – Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction
  • John Steyn – Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction
  • Mohammad Arafah – Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction
  • Shuyuan Li – Foot & Ankle Adult Reconstruction
  • Alasdair Barrie – Foot & Ankle Reconstruction
Division of Hand & Upper Extremity
  • Michael Bullen – Hand & Upper Extremity
Division of Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Hayley Spurr – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Gourav Jandial – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Onyedikachi Eseonu – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Saesol Stallard – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Drew Armit – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Mathew Clarke – Pediatric Orthopaedics
  • Karim Kantar – Pediatric Orthopaedic Spine
  • Rashed Al Ahmed – Pediatric Orthopaedic Spine
Division of Lower Limb Reconstruction & Oncology
  • Suroosh Madani Pour – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
  • Panayiotis Megalooikonomos – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
  • Thomas Robinson – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
  • Faisal Al Fayyadh – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
  • Hamad Alenezi – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
  • Aly Alsaifan – Adult Reconstruction, Hip & Knee
Division of Orthopaedic Spine Surgery
  • Nikolaus Koegl – Neurosurgical & Orthopaedic Spine
  • Anick Nater – Neurosurgical & Orthopaedic Spine
  • William Chu Kwan – Neurosurgical & Orthopaedic Spine
Division of Orthopaedic Trauma
  • Philip Hache – Orthopaedic Trauma – Vancouver Acute
  • Oliver Pearce – Orthopaedic Trauma – Vancouver Acute
  • Zoe Rubin – Orthopaedic Trauma – Vancouver Acute

Share this story:

Latest News